Aberdeen and District Soarers is a well established Club. It was formed in 1978 by a group of enthusiasts who shared a common interest in building and flying radio controlled model gliders. Club membership has varied between twenty and fifty over the years, but there has always been an enthusiastic core keen to promote the sport and to provide help and guidance to new members. Historically the main interests have been thermal and slope soaring, but in recent years this has been joined by the flying of electric powered models.


All Club members must be insured against third party risks. The Club arrange this for the majority of members through the Scottish Aeromodellers Association (SAA) to which ADS is affiliated.


Anyone wishing to join the Club should contact Club Secretary Hugh Grant. An application form may be downloaded in the margin. Please note that ADS is primarily a gliding and electric flight Club.



John Barnes

Mike Burns

Alan Carnegie

Lous Cotton

Brian Cullen

Neil Davidson

Stephen Davies

Graham Donaldson

Willie Findlay

Ron Grant

Chris Harper



Jim Jamieson

Eryk Jaszkim

Norrie Kerr

John Lawrence

Syd Lyth

Iain Manson

Alistair Marshall

Gerry Mitchell

Doug Patterson

George Petrie

Mike Pirie


Derek Robertson

Frank Ross

Jim Ruxton

Jim Selkirk

Terry Shields

Alan Stewart

Colin Stewart

Fraser Stronach

Gordon Taylor
George Thomson

Sandy Tough

George Whelan

Jim Wilson






Club Constitution


2014 AGM News

2015 FEES


Club Subscription £12

(U16 - £6)


SAA membership which includes insurance £29


Application Form